RIIL, RISBCA unveil award winners


The Rhode Island Interscholastic League held a banquet as the RI Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association unveiled its postseason awards for this past spring season and many locals were recognized. Here are some of the players that were honored for their performance:

Pilgrim’s Genna D’Amato and Cranston West’s Sofia Marella were each named First Team All-State. West’s Sienna Nardelli, Johnston’s Haley Boudreau and Cranston East’s Nevaeh Fatorma were named Second Team All-State. Pilgrim’s Madison Tuirok and Marin Prest were each named Third Team All-State.

D’Amato, Marella and Nardelli made the Division I First Team, while Tuirok and Prest made the Second Team. Pilgrim’s Gretchen Dombeck and Skylar Hawes were named to the DI Third Team, along with West’s Mia Crudale and Gianna DiSpirito. Pilgrim’s Carlos Rodas was named Coach of the Year. Pilgrim’s Audra McDonnell and West’s Sam Healy were honorable mentions.

Johnston’s Haley Boudreau and Arianna Velasquez each made the Division II First Team, while teammate Bella Boudreau and Toll Gate’s Reagan Motta were named to the second team. Johnston’s Alexia DiLorenzo made the Division II Third Team. Johnston’s Kalyn Foster and Toll Gate’s Amanda Preston were honorable mentions. Johnston’s David Iannuccilli earned Division II Coach of the Year honors.

Fatorma and teammate Isabella Sousa were named to the Division III First Team, while East’s Estella Rivas made the Second Team. Kiara McGarty was named to the DIII Third Team, and East coach Jordan McHale was named Coach of the Year. Jaeda Viveiros was an honorable mention.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here