School Committee members sworn in for new term


There wasn’t much pomp and circumstance during the Johnston School Committee’s first official meeting of 2021 Tuesday night inside the Nicholas A. Ferri Middle School Library.

The night’s first official business was Chair Bob LaFazia, who represents District 1, along with District 4 representative Joseph W. Rotella and District 3 representative David J. Santilli taking their oaths of office from Mayor Joseph Polisena.

The mayor then congratulated the three veteran school committee members, as well as Susan Mansolillo and Dawn Aloisio, who sat at tables in keeping with the state’s social distancing guidelines.

“Thank you all for your great public service. I wish you all the best of luck and please keep up the good work you are doing for Johnston Public Schools,” the mayor said.

After that, the School Committee reorganization began with LaFazia being reelected as chairman – a post previously held by the late Janice D. Mele, whose name is affixed to the Johnston High School Library.

Rotella was reelected vice chairman and began his fourth four-year term. Santilli, a former Johnston Town Council member, is in his first full term on the School Committee and became a member by filling Mele’s vacancy.

As for Mansolillo, who represents District 5, she has two years left on her current term. She had previously served on the School Committee before not seeking reelection a few years ago.

Aloisio, the District 2 representative, also has two years left on her first-ever School Committee term. She and Mansolillo were also elected co-chairs of the group’s health committee, while Rotella and Santilli will share roles for the safety committee. Mansolillo will also serve as social chairperson.

Rotella will chair the building grounds committee in addition to his vice chairman duties.

Meanwhile, Angela Brasil, the administrative assistant to Superintendent Dr. Bernard DiLullo, was appointed clerk/secretary for the School Committee. LaFazia and Santilli will chair the contracts committee.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment