Rhode Island National Guard 'Attack Company' deploys to Southeast Asia


The Rhode Island National Guard hosted a departure ceremony for Alpha Company, 1-182nd Infantry Battalion, nicknamed “Attack” Company, at the Army Aviation Support Facility on Quonset Air National Guard Base on Memorial Day.

The approximately 100 Soldiers of the Infantry Company, commanded by Capt. Timothy O’Leary, are deploying in support of Task Force Spartan and Operation Spartan Shield.

Alpha Company ceremoniously mobilized during the brief event and will travel to Fort Bliss, TX tomorrow Tuesday, May 31, to complete their post-mobilization training.  The Infantry Company was formally activated on Friday, May 27.  Later this summer they will deploy to various sites in Southwest Asia to serve as site security and Quick Reaction Forces.

“Attack Company, you are a model unit within our National Guard,” said Brigadier General Andrew Chevalier, Land Component Commander Rhode Island Army National Guard. “Whether it’s standing out amongst your peer companies in your battalion, supporting the COVID response or responding to civil unrest here or in the National Capital Region, you always rise to the occasion and excel in your missions.”

This storied unit deployed in 2005-2006 to Iraq in Support of Operation Iraqi Freedom as Delta Company, 3-172d Infantry.  The unit was designated under its current name, Alpha Company, 1-182nd Infantry in 2009 and deployed to Afghanistan in 2011-2012 in support of Operation Enduring Freedom.  In recent history, Alpha Company served in support of the State Police in June 2020 as well as during the 59th Presidential Inauguration in January 2021.

For the safety of the Soldiers and their families, media was not invited to attend the ceremony.  Alpha Company, 1-182nd Infantry is expected to be deployed outside of Rhode Island for approximately 12 months.

The ceremony was attended by Governor Daniel McKee, U.S. Senators Jack Reed and Sheldon Whitehouse, Congressman David Cicilline, Lieutenant Governor Sabina Matos, Secretary of State Nellie Gorbea, and Treasurer Seth Magaziner.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here