Our Lady of Grace golf tourney revisited


Officially, the fun-loving foursome of Joe Desautel, Bill Wall, Jason Adams and Charlie Vachon will forever be remembered as champions of the first-ever Our Lady of Grace Golf Tournament which was played at picturesque Swansea Country Club.

But if you talk to Rev. Peter J. Gower, the popular pastor at the Johnston-based Roman Catholic Church, the real winners were, “each and every volunteer who worked real, real hard to make the tournament an overwhelming success for our parish.”

Headed by Co-chairpersons Carolyn Najmowicz and Norman Bessette, the tourney – which was named in memory of the late golf pro Frederick Bruno – featured fun, food and fellowship and mega-raffle prizes.

Throughout the sun-covered tourney, every person that was at the 18-hole layout walked into a tented area where committee members had nearly arranged dozens of raffle prizes that ranged from unusual wine goblets and golf balls to Oneida stainless steel silverware to a variety of gift baskets, golf apparel an a fire pit.

Even Swansea CC staffers, who received kudos for being “extremely accommodating” throughout the 18-hole event as well as other golfers who were playing at the famed Massachusetts course, were impressed with the high-quality raffle prizes during the Frederick Bruno Memorial Tournament.

“We wanted to make sure we put on a good show at our first (golf) tourney,” Father Gower related. “We’re hoping to make this an annual affair that will benefit our parish.”

Thus, Father Gower is hopeful that Desautel, Wall, Adams and Vachon will be back for the Fred Bruno Memorial II and that runners-up Jon Smith, Paul Acciardo, Craig Fisher and Dan Cregen as well as third place winners Tom Hoagland, Spud Whitney, John Newcomb and Jack McCaughey will also tee off next year.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment